Google Ads interview questions and answers 👇

  1. Google Ads Interview Questions

Google Ads Interview Questions

Why should you consider different messaging in your video ads than your text/search ads?

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Video search behavior is different than search behavior on traditional search engines like Google.

What is the actual cost per click?

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The actual cost per click (CPC) for advertisers is determined at auction and is not visible, but could be less than the maximum CPC bid. This is because you only pay what’s required to beat the ad rank of the nearest competitor. The equation for determining CPC looks like this: CPC = (Ad rank to beat / Quality score) + $0.01. However, the average CPC can be seen.

What are impressions?

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An impression is counted each time your ad is shown on a search result page or other site on the Google Network.

When would you pay for a Trueview In-search Advertisement?

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Only if a viewer chooses to watch the video.

What is PPC marketing?

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PPC stands for pay-per-click marketing. It is a marketing strategy designed to drive traffic from search engines or other websites to a company’s website. The advertiser is paid when someone clicks on the ad. Hence, the payment is made per click.

What is remarketing?

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Remarketing is a feature that lets you customize your display ads campaign for people who have previously visited the site, and tailor your ads (using dynamic remarketing) to these visitors when they browse the web and use apps.

What are Dynamic Search Ads?

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DSAs are similar to traditional text campaigns, but differ in one big way: by foregoing keywords and instead using your actual website, or a product feed for your business.

What are some advantages and disadvantages of bidding on competitor brand names?

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  • It can increase brand awareness.
  • It is cheaper and less competitive


  • It can lead to low CTR
  • Bidding can become more expensive for both brands

What will you do to improve conversion rates?

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Conversion rates can be improved with the help of creating ads that can match with keywords in a relevant way. These can also be improved by creating tightly themed ad groups that can focus on targeting users to the campaigns which will eventually improve the conversions.

What is the difference between managed and automatic placements?

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With managed placements, marketers can choose from various options in which you want to show their Google AdWords ad. These options include specific websites, locations, videos, apps, etc. For example, if there is a particular option that ranks well for a group of your targeted keywords, then you can choose to show your Ads only on those pages.

In automatic placements, you don’t get options to choose from and it shows your ads automatically.

What are Search Terms?

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The exact words that trigger your ads are called search terms.

What are the different types of keyword matches in Google AdWords?

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These are the five main keyword match types:

  • Broad match (max reach, min relevance)
  • Modified Broad match (slightly lower reach, greater relevance)
  • Phrase match (medium reach, medium relevance)
  • Exact match (min reach, max relevance)
  • Negative match (usually used to increase the relevance of the website visitors)

What is Google ad API?

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The AdWords and Google Ads API allows developers to create and use applications that interact directly with their account details. These APIs can help advertisers manage large Google Ads accounts and campaigns efficiently.

Can your ad be used to link to a PDF format product brochure directly?

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What is CTR and how to calculate it?

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CTR (click-through-rate) is used to measure the success of an ad. To calculate CTR we use this formula: number of clicks/number of impressions x 100 = CTR.

What is conversion optimizer?

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AdWords Conversion Optimizer is a tool that helps acquire the most conversions possible at a defined target cost per acquisition. Instead of manually manipulating bids and generating conversions at any cost, conversion optimizer automatically adjusts bids so conversions are generated within a defined CPA boundary.

What is the character limit of a destination URL?

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1024 characters.

Describe the different types of automatic bidding strategies.

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The different automatic bidding strategies in AdWords are:

  • Maximize clicks – automatically adjusts bid to get as many likes as per the budget.
  • Target out ranking share – the automatic setting of bids to outrank a domain and how often.
  • Target CPA – automatically sets bid to get the maximum conversions as per the target CPA.
  • Target search page location – automatically sets bid to increase the chances of an ad getting displayed at the top of the google search page or on the 1st search page.
  • Enhance CPC – automatically adjust bids to maximize conversions.

What is automated bidding strategy?

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Automated bidding is a Google AdWords big strategy that sets bids for your Google AdWords ads automatically based on how likely the impression will turn into a fruitful click or even conversion. It helps businesses maximize the profit for their campaigns. It takes multiple factors into counting like user’s device, time of the day, location, demographics and more.

What is a Phrase Match?

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For phrase match, the meaning of the keyword needs to be part of the query — but there can be additional text in the query.

What is Quality Score?

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Google rates ads based on the keywords used and the design of the PPC ads. This rating is called the quality score. It depends on various factors such as keyword relevance, ad text relevance, and the landing page quality. The higher the quality score, the better the chances of the ad being shown at the top.

What is ROAS and how is it calculated?

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Return On Advertising Spend, (ROAS), is a marketing metric that measures the efficacy of a digital advertising campaign. ROAS helps online businesses evaluate which methods are working and how they can improve future advertising efforts.

ROAS = Revenue attributable to ads / Cost of ads For example, if you invest $100 into an ad campaign and generate $250 in revenue from those ads, the ROAS is 2.5.

What are invalid clicks?

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Clicks on ads that Google considers to be illegitimate, such as unintentional clicks or clicks resulting from malicious software.

What are negative keywords?

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Negative keywords are used to prevent your ads from showing to people who are actively searching queries unrelated to the services or products you provide. This way, you can avoid wasting money on clicks that won’t convert.

What is frequency capping with respect to Google Ads?

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It is a Google Adwords feature that restricts the number of times an ad appears to a person on the web.

For an advertiser, there are two ways to use them:

  • Display campaign – With it, the advertiser can limit the number of impressions of a campaign for the person. It can be daily, weekly or monthly.
  • Video campaign – For video campaigns, the frequency cap can be set on the number of impressions or views.

What is Ad Rank?

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Ad Rank is a value that comes into use while determining the ad position of any particular ad. It has a specific formula and is calculated using several parameters such as bid amount, auction-time ad quality, Ad Rank thresholds, the context of the person’s search, location, device, time of the search, the nature of search terms, the other ads as well as the search results that show on the page.

What is ad rotation?

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When there are multiple ads within an ad group, the ads will rotate as only one ad at a time can be shown from a single account.

Explain IP Address exclusion.

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The IP address exclusion enables users to manually enter the IP addresses of those users who they don’t want to see their ads. All those addresses that are added to the list will not be able to see your ads. It is usually done on particular networks that are not likely to be used by potential customers.

What is the difference between CPM, CPC, and CPV bidding?

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CPM bidding: You should choose this sort of bidding if your wish for users to see your ad and gain mindshare without the user taking the action immediately. With CPM bidding the model needs to determine how much it is willing to bid for this user in order to gain an impression.

CPC bidding: You should choose CPC bidding if you want users to click your ad to get to a landing page or product page. With this bidding the bidding model will choose the users that will most likely click.

CPV bidding: You should choose CPV bidding if you want users to view your video ads. In this type of bidding the bidding model will need to figure out whether or not the user will watch the video ad.