Adaface 的创始人:Deepti 和 Siddhartha

TLDR;我们认为,现状技术评估平台不是公司评估工程师的公平方式。我们创立了 Adaface,通过评估某个职位所需的在职技能来帮助公司找到优秀的工程师。


如果您在这里,您可能想知道为什么我们创建了另一个工具来自动化筛选面试或编码测试。要完全理解原因,我们必须看看目前面试工程师的现状,特别是筛选阶段。

随着越来越多的候选人开始申请技术职位,公司开始寻找自动化第一轮筛选的方法。

传统评估使用您在实践中从未真正使用过的谜题/晦涩的计算机科学问题或小众算法。 🤯


虽然如果某人擅长拼图则很棒(即使此技能可以通过练习来提高),但这并不是一个强有力的指标,表明某人的工程师有多好/他们将在这个角色中有多好。此外,这种衡量开发人员技能的方式对更有经验的开发人员存在固有的偏见。

作为一名面试官,很容易忘记面试环境对被面试者的压力有多大。必须为您在学校学习的非常小众的算法编写可执行代码(仅当您是 CS 专业时也是如此),并且在您作为现实世界中的工程师时从未真正使用过,随着计时器滴答作响,可能非常非常吓人! 😨

许多以前遇到过这些荒谬测试的开发人员建议公司与他们交谈而不是发送测试。虽然在理想情况下这样做很容易,但当您有 120 名候选人申请 1 个职位时,这是不可能的。然而,对于非常高级的工程职位(8 年以上的经验)来说,面试每一个似乎有资格胜任该职位的候选人绝对是有意义的,而且由于候选人明显减少,这也是相当可行的。

软件工程师往往不擅长推销自己,而优秀的候选人往往在纸面上大肆推销自己。充其量,简历筛选可以帮助您排除一些非常明显不适合该职位的候选人,并按优先级对简历进行排序。除此之外,使用简历筛选器对具有良好证书(教育和工作经历)的候选人具有固有的偏见。优秀的程序员可以来自任何地方,使用关键字匹配意味着您可能会错过很多优秀的候选人。但是,如果公司开始面试每个申请者,那么仅仅面试候选人就会占用工程团队的所有时间。

那么,经过这么长时间的咆哮之后,我们想要做什么?

我们正在为公司和候选人建立一种方法来确定他们是否合适。让公司找出最适合其职位的候选人,同时在面试过程中保持人性化。并让候选人弄清楚他们是否适合。如果能力/经验的期望不匹配,那么在最坏的情况下,面对面的面试可能是一次困难的(甚至是创伤性的!)经历,而对候选人来说,最好的情况是浪费时间。

对于公司中的每个角色,我们的主题专家都会根据角色的要求设计自定义评估。

是的,理想情况下,您希望评估他们以简单设计编写干净、可维护的代码的能力,与团队合作以解决难题等。但在与 120 名候选人中的每一位进行 2 小时的面试之前,您还希望了解候选人是否可以编写代码。任何从未站在面试官一边的人都会对有多少候选人不会编写代码感到惊讶。筛选面试将继续存在。我们正在努力让它们变得更好。

在 Adaface,我们设置了 45 分钟的候选人友好型评估,以测试在职技能。 🤩


以下是我们正在做的与现状不同的事情:

  • 更短的评估(45-60 分钟)以确保工程师能够尽快完成,他们投入的时间尽可能少,同时仍然足以展示他们的专业知识。
  • 根据角色要求量身定制的自定义评估(无技巧问题
  • 比较简单的问题(这是一个筛选面试),有非常大的时间限制(我们团队为它编写代码所需的 3 倍)
  • 消除误报和误报的极其精细的评分
  • 友好的候选人体验(每个问题的提示、友好的消息传递和聊天机器人;平均候选人 NPS 为 4.4/5)☺️

希望您对我们为什么开始 Adaface 有一个很好的了解,并且我们已经说服您这是一个好主意。 🙂

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 今年我接受了超过 15 次采访,他们有时会通过电话或 Skype 连接,这似乎很耗时,因为需要等待电话,然后是一些时间网络问题或硬件问题,这次采访似乎非常好,因为任何时候都可以进行,并且几乎适合新的采访时代。艾达你是完美的..!!

到目前为止,候选人似乎真的很喜欢对话式的评估方法,请在此处查看我们的爱墙。

挑战现状绝非易事,我们正在寻求像您这样的早期采用者的帮助。我们非常希望您查看产品/联系我们! 🤩

If you're here you're probably wondering why we created yet another tool to automate screening interviews or coding tests. To fully understand why, we have to look at the current status quo for interviewing engineers, specifically the screening phase.

As more and more candidates started applying for tech roles, companies started looking for ways to automate the initial rounds of screening.

The status quo is to rely on the following:

An assessments with the equivalent of puzzles or obscure computer science questions or niche algorithms that you never really use in practice. 🤯

While it's great if someone's good at puzzles (even though this skill can be improved with practice), this is not a strong indicator of how good of an engineer someone is/ how good they're going to be in the role. Also, this way of measuring developer skills' has an inherent bias against more experienced developers.

As an interviewer it is very easy to forget how stressful the interview setting is for the interviewee. Having to write executable code for a very niche algorithm you studied at school (that too only if you were a CS major), and never really used in your time as an engineer in the real world, with the timer ticking, can be very very intimidating! 😨

A lot of developers who've previously faced these ridiculous tests suggest that companies talk to them instead of sending over a test. While this would be a no brainer to do in an ideal scenario, this is not possible to do when you have 120 candidates applying for 1 role. For very senior engineering positions (8+ years of experience) however, it absolutely makes sense to interview every candidate who appears to be qualified for the role and it is quite doable as well since there are significantly fewer candidates.

Software engineers tend to not be good at selling themselves, and great candidates often massively undersell themselves on paper. At best, a resume screen helps you eliminate some candidates who are very clearly not qualified for the role and sort resumes by priority. Beyond that, using a resume filter has an inherent bias towards candidates with good credentials (education and work history). Good programmers can come from anywhere, and using keyword matching means you're probably missing out on a lot of great candidates. But if companies start interviewing everyone who applies, it would take up all of the engineering team's time just to interview candidates.

So, after that really long rant, what is it that we're trying to do?

We're building a way for companies and candidates to find out if they're a good fit. For companies to figure out who the best suited candidates for their role, while still being humane with the interview process. And for candidates to figure out if they'd be a good fit. If ability/ experience expectations are mismatched, an in-person interview can be a difficult (traumatic even!) experience at worst, and a time sink at best for the candidate.

For each role in a company, our subject matter experts design a custom assessment based on the requirements of the role.

Yes, ideally you want to assess their ability to write clean, maintainable code with a simple design, work collaboratively with the team to arrive at solutions to difficult problems etc. But before setting up a 2 hour interview with each of 120 candidates you also want to know if the candidate can write code. Anyone who has never been on the interviewer's side of the table will be surprised by how many candidates cannot write code. Screening interviews are here to stay. We're trying to make them better.

Here's what we're doing differently from the status quo:

  • Shorter assessments (45-60 mins) to make sure engineers can do it ASAP, they are investing as less time as possible, while still enough to showcase their expertise.
  • Custom assessments tailored to the requirements of the role (NO trick questions)
  • Questions at the simpler end of the spectrum (it is a screening interview) with a very generous time allowance (3x what it takes our team to write code for it)
  • Extremely granular scoring that eliminates false positives and false negatives
  • Friendly candidate experience (hints for each question, friendly messaging and chatbot; average candidate NPS is 4.4/5) ☺️

Hopefully, you've gotten a good sense of why we started Adaface and we've convinced you it is a good idea. 🙂

Challenging the status quo is never easy, and we're looking for help from early adopters like yourself. We'd absolutely love for you to check out the product/ reach out! 🤩